Fred Gus Collins Award

The late Fred "Gus" Collins was a long-time contributor to the development, success and promotion of Canada West Athletics, notably through his endless effort to produce updated, accurate statistical information to all media in an era long before laptops and spreadsheets. The Fred "Gus" Collins Award is presented annually to a member of the media who works tirelessly covering Canada West and it student-athletes. The winner becomes the Canada West nominee for the Fred Sgambati Award, which is presented by U SPORTS to a member of the news media, who has made a major contribution to the development and growth of U SPORTS. A former University of Toronto athlete and University football official, Fred Sgambati was the radio voice of the College Bowl (now the Vanier Cup) for its first 13 years, and was a well-respected reporter/broadcaster, who was a great supporter of university athletics in Canada.

Fred 'Gus' Collins Award Winners

* denotes Fred Sgambati Award winners
2021-2022Mike SawatzkyWinnipeg Free Press
2020-2021Quinn PhillipsGlobal Edmonton
2019-2020Ted ClarkePrince George Citizen
2018-19Marty HastingsKamloops This Week
2017-18*Jason HillsPostmedia (Edmonton)
2016-17*Cleve DheensawTimes Colonist (Victoria)
2015-16*Rita MingoPostmedia (Calgary)
2014-15Earl SeitzCFJC/CIFM/B100 (Kamloops)
2013-14*Darren ZaryStarPhoenix (Saskatoon)
2012-13Ron RauchTimes Colonist (Victoria)
2011-12Evan DaumEdmonton Journal / CJSR
2010-11David LarkinsBrandon Sun
2009-10Esther MadziyaGlobal TV (Saskatoon)
2008-09*Howard TsumaraVancouver Province
2007-08Jason PiresA-Channel (Victoria)
2006-07Neil ShewchukCK750 (Saskatoon)
2005-06Howard TsumaraVancouver Province
2004-05*Ian HamiltonLeader-Post (Regina)