2017 CW field hockey season opens September 16

2017 CW field hockey season opens September 16

Evan Daum, Canada West Communications


  • The defending CW and U SPORTS champion UBC Thunderbirds open the season on the road against the Victoria Vikes September 16-17
  • All three CW teams will play eight regular season games, with the conference champion determined by regular season standing
  • UBC is set to host the national championship tournament November 2-5

EDMONTON – The 2017 CW women's field hockey season opens Saturday, September 16, as the conference schedule was released Wednesday. 


Storied west coast rivals Victoria and UBC start the season with a two-game series opening weekend in a rematch of last year's national championship game, which saw UBC emerge with a 2-1 victory in a shootout.

The defending U SPORTS champion Thunderbirds enter the season in search of an astonishing seventh consecutive Canadian university title, while Victoria is looking to top the national podium for the first time since 2008. 

Hoping to upset the balance of power in Canada West are the Calgary Dinos, who enter 2017 in tough against the powerful Vikes and T-Birds, who have gone past regulation to determine a national champion the last two seasons. The pair have combined to win every conference title since 1975.

Once again in 2017, the CW champion will be determined by the regular season standings, as UBC looks for a 25th outright conference title all-time.

The 2017 season concludes November 2-5 at the University of British Columbia, where the T-Birds will play host to the national tournament for the first time since 2006.

CW schedule release dates:

Rugby (15s) – Thursday, June 8

Soccer – Wednesday, June 14

Hockey – Tuesday, June 20

Volleyball – Wednesday, June 21

Basketball – Thursday, June 22

Championship sports (swimming, wrestling, track & field) – Thursday, June 29