TWU's Jacob Doerksen named CIS Player of the Year

OTTAWA (CIS) – Third-year Trinity Western forward Jacob Doerksen is the Canadian Interuniversity Sport men’s basketball Player of the Year.
A native of Abbotsford, B.C., Doerksen is the first Spartan to claim the Mike Moser memorial trophy since Trinity Western joined the Canada West conference in 1998-99.
2009 CIS men's basketball championship
Other CIS major award winners announced Thursday night in Ottawa were Carleton’s Robert Saunders of Kingston, Ont., who was named the nation’s top defensive player; Brock’s Didi Mukendi of St. Catharines, Ont., who received the Dr. Peter Mullins trophy as rookie of the year; Carleton’s Dave Smart, who claimed his third Stuart W. Aberdeen memorial trophy as coach of the year; and Laval’s Jérôme Turcotte-Routhier of Quebec City, who received the Ken Shields award recognizing excellence in basketball, academics and community involvement.
The 2009 CIS men’s basketball Final 8 gets under way Friday with the quarterfinal round and concludes Sunday with the presentation of the national final at 4 p.m. The Score Television Network will broadcast the last two first-round duels on Friday evening (quarterfinal No. 4 on tape delay), the semifinals on Saturday night, as well as the championship game.

In his first campaign at Trinity Western after transferring from Victoria, where he played for two seasons in 2005-06 and 2006-07, Doerksen played a major role in an impressive turnaround that saw the Spartans improve from 4-19 to 17-6 in conference play and capture bronze at the Canada West Final Four. A former CIS rookie of the year as a member of the Vikes, the sis-foot-six, 230-pound junior is the first player to claim both the Moser and Mullins trophies since Victoria’s Eric Hinrichsen, who earned a pair of CIS MVP nods in 1996-97 and 1998-99 after being named the nation’s top freshman in 1994-95.
Doerksen finished third in Canada West scoring and first in rebounding this season averaging 20.8 points and 10.7 boards per game, making him the only player in the country to average more than 20 points and 10 rebounds per outing in conference play. The third-year business student finished the campaign in the Canada West top seven in six more statistical categories including second in field goal percentage (53.7), second in offensive rebounding (3.9 per game), third in defensive boards (6.7 per game), fourth in minutes played (35.9 per game), fifth in steals (2.3 per game) and seventh in blocked shots (1.1 per game).
Doerksen had 13 double-doubles in points and rebounds in 19 conference duels, scoring a season-high 38 points against Saskatchewan on November 7. In the third match of the best-of-three Pacific Division semi-final series, he scored 24 points and grabbed a TWU single-game record 19 boards to lead the Spartans to an 87-85 over his former team, Victoria.
“Jacob continually amazes me on his improvement,” said Trinity Western head coach Scott Allen. “He does so many intangibles that cannot be measured to strengthen our play, he strives for excellence on both ends of the court and is always willing to do what is best for the team.”
Third-year St. Francis Xavier point guard Christian Upshaw of Halifax, fourth-year Concordia point guard Damian Buckley of Montreal, and fifth-year Windsor forward Greg Surmacz of Peterborough, Ont., were the other finalists for the Mike Moser memorial trophy.

CIS Awards
Mike Moser Memorial Trophy Player of the Year: Jacob Doerksen, TWU
Defensive Player of the Year: Robert Saunders, Carleton
Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy Rookie of the Year: Didi Mukendi, Brock
Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy Coach of the Year: Dave Smart, Carleton
Ken Shields Award Outstanding student-athlete Jérôme Turcotte-Routhier, Laval