WHKY: Thunderbirds battle back for thrilling 4-3 win over Cougars

WHKY: Thunderbirds battle back for thrilling 4-3 win over Cougars

University of Regina Sports Information

REGINA - The University of Regina women's hockey team only trailed for 42 seconds on Friday night, but fell 4-3 to the UBC Thunderbirds at The Co-operators Centre.

Bailey Braden, Emma Waldenberger and Jordan Kulbida scored for the Cougars. Celine Tardif, Brielle Bellerive, Ireland Perrott and Hannah Clayton-Carroll found the net in response.

Tory Micklash got the win in net for UBC, making 39 saves and bailing out UBC multiple times. Morgan Baker also played well for the Cougars, making 31 saves as Regina falls to 3-2-0-0.

Braden and Waldenberger each netted their third goals of the season in the second period, putting home rebounds off the pads of Micklash to put Regina up 2-0. UBC bounced right back, first with a slapshot from Tardif and then a rebound that found the stick of Bellerive.

After a surprisingly docile first period, the second and third periods had the feel of a playoff game. Frustrations started to boil over in the second for both teams as both the Cougars and T-Birds ended the night with 30 minutes in penalties.

Kulbida continued her fine rookie campaign just over a minute into the third period, scoring her second goal of the season on a long shot that found its way over the shoulder of Micklash and into the top corner.

The battle continued through the third and penalties caught up to the Cougars. A Martina Maskova slash and a too many men call gave UBC the momentum they needed, as Emily Costales found Perrott in the slot and the rookie made no mistake to tie the game.

After a Shiayli Toni interference call and a roughing minor on Braden, the two teams went to 4-on-4 to close the final minutes of the game. The deciding marker came at 19:08 of the third, as Tardif fed a beautiful backdoor pass to Clayton-Carroll who potted her third of the season to bump UBC to 4-1-0-0.

The Cougars and Thunderbirds will face off again on Saturday night, with puck drop scheduled for 7 p.m. at The Co-operators Centre.