WHKY: Poznikoff leads Pandas to pummeling of Mount Royal

WHKY: Poznikoff leads Pandas to pummeling of Mount Royal

Connor Hood, Golden Bears and Pandas Athletics

EDMONTON - Alex Poznikoff paced the attack with a four-point performance, as the Alberta Pandas won their fourth-straight with a 7-0 victory over the Mount Royal Cougars, Friday night at Clare Drake Arena.

Autumn MacDougall also chipped in three points, while Kirsten Chamberlin stopped all nine shots she faced to earn her first shutout of the season. The win improves Alberta's record to 4-1-0-0 in 2018/19, as they also earn a third-straight shutout. The Cougars drop to 1-3-0-1, and into seventh in the conference standings. 

Along with a pair of goals from Poznikoff, and one from MacDougall, the Pandas also received contributions from Regan Wright, Kennedy Ganser, Abby Benning, and Amy Boucher. 

The Pandas scored three in the opening frame, including two in the first nine minutes, chasing Cougar starter Zoe DeBeauville, who allowed three goals on 13 shots. 

Backup Emily Severson faired well in replacement, making a pair of key saves early in the second period. However, the Pandas skating was too much for MRU to handle, as Ganser extended their lead midway through the second. On a three-on-one rush, MacDougall dropped the puck for a trailing Ganser, who ripped a shot under Severson's glove for her second of the season.

The Cougars, who trailed the entire game, never challenged Chamberlin in the Panda net. MRU managed just four shots combined in the second and third periods, all of which were turned aside easily by the Panda keeper. 

Alberta continued to pour it on early in the third, as Poznikoff scored her second of the night just 16 seconds into the frame, before Benning notched her first of the season 24 seconds later. Boucher added her first of the season in the final minute, sealing a dominating performance for Alberta. 

The two sides will finish up their weekend series tomorrow night in Calgary, as the Pandas visit the Cougars at the Flames Community Arena at 6:00 p.m. MST.