RUGBY: Nine CW players named to Tri-Nations Cup roster for Canada

Alberta's Courtney Holtkamp will represent Canada at the Tri-Nations Cup.
Alberta's Courtney Holtkamp will represent Canada at the Tri-Nations Cup.

Evan Daum, Canada West Communications

EDMONTON – Nine Canada West women's rugby players will suit up for Canada later this month, as Rugby Canada announced the roster for the upcoming U-20 Tri-Nations Cup in Nova Scotia.

The UBC Thunderbirds landed a trio of players on the team (Brooke Bazian, Mackenzie Carson, and Madison Gold), while both the Victoria Vikes (Zoe Goodwin-Sutton, and Sasha Guedes) and Lethbridge Pronghorns (Keegan Brantner, and Abby Duguid) have two players on the roster.

Both the Alberta Pandas (Courtenay Holtkamp), and Calgary Dinos (Aly MacDougall) also had players named to the 25-player roster.

Highlighting the Canada West content named to Team Canada are Carson, Brantner and Holtkamp. Carson and Brantner were CW all-stars last season as second-year players, while Holtkamp earned the conference's rookie of the year award. 

Held at Acadia University in Wolfville, NS and the Wanderers Ground in downtown Halifax, the Tri-Nations Cup will see U-20 sides from USA, England and Canada face off over a 12-day period beginning next week. 

Canada kicks off the tournament Tuesday, August 7 against the US. For the complete Rugby Canada release, click here.




Erika Barton - Guelph University/Kingston Panthers (ON)
Brooke Bazian - UBC Thunderbirds (BC)
Keegan Brantner - University of Lethbridge/Lethbridge Rugby Club (AB)
Mackenzie Carson - UBC Thunderbirds/Bristol Bears (BC)
Hannah Daniels - Queen's University/Aurora Barbarians (ON)
Sophie de Goede - Queen's University/Castaway Wanderers (BC)
Abby Duguid - University of Lethbridge/Edmonton Pirates RFC (AB)
Madison Gold - UBC Thunderbirds (BC)
Zoe Goodwin-Sutton - UVic Vikes/Westshore RFC (ON)
Sasha Guedes - UVic Vikes/Beaconsfield (QC)
Amelia Hatfield - St Francis Xavier University/Halifax Tars RFC (NS)
Niamh Haughey - Brock University/Saracens (ON)
Rachel Hickson - Queen's University/Kingston Panthers (ON)
Asia Hogan - York University/Toronto Nomads (ON)
Courtenay Holtkamp - University of Alberta/Red Deer Titans (AB)
Taylour Hurd - Brock University/Oakville Crusaders (ON)
Idia Ihensekien - Dartmouth College/Oakville Crusaders RFC (ON)
Annie Kennedy - Acadia University/Windsor Machine RFC (ON)
Sarah-Maude La Chance - CEGEP Victoriaville/Club De Rugby Quebec (QC)
Tausani Levale - Abbotsford Griffins (BC)
Aly MacDougall - University of Calgary/Calgary Irish (AB)
Celia Martensson - Queen's University/Aurora Barbarians (ON)
Maya Montiel - Ottawa University/Ottawa Irish Rugby Club (NB)
Harley Tucker - Acadia Universtiy/Windsor Machine RFC (AB)
Valerie Wideski - Acadia University/Westshore RFC (BC)