Seven CW players named to Universiade women's volleyball squad

Seven CW players named to Universiade women's volleyball squad

Evan Daum, Canada West Communications

EDMONTON – Seven players with Canada West connections have been named to Canada's women's volleyball team at the upcoming Summer Universiade in Taipei.

Former Canada West stars Meg Casault (Alberta), Kacey Otto (Alberta), Alissa Coulter (UBC), Danielle Brisebois (UBC), and Nikki Cornwall (TWU), along with current CW players Vanessa Jarman (Alberta), and Aidan Lea (UBCO) were named to the Canadian team ahead of the Games, which officially open August 19 in Taipei City.

Joining the seven athletes overseas will be Alberta head coach Laurie Eisler as team leader, along with UBC assistant coach Daniel Huzar, who will guide the squad as head coach.

The Canada West contingent brings no shortage of university experience to the table, including Casault, who was the CW Women's Volleyball Player of the Year last season. She will be making her second trip to the Summer Universiade after representing Canada at the 2015 Games in South Korea, where Canada lost in the quarter-finals to the eventual champions from Russia.

Brisebois will also bring plenty of big game experience to the fold after captaining the Thunderbirds to a U SPORTS national title last season and was named the conference female athlete of the year, representing CW as the conference's nominee for the prestigious BLG Award, which honours the national univeristy athlete of the year. 

Of the seven Canada West players donning the maple leaf, three were first team CW all-stars last season (Casault, Brisebois, Cornwall), while Otto was a second teamer, and Jarman was an all-rookie. 

The Canadian team will open the tournament on August 20th against the United Arab Emirates, before playing Switzerland (Aug. 21), Cyprus (Aug 22), and Argentina (Aug. 23). Quarter-final play is slated for Aug. 25, the semis go Aug. 26, before the medal games on Aug. 28.

Canada West players named to Canadian WVB roster 


Kacey Otto / Calgary, Alta. / University of Alberta

Vanessa Jarman / Edmonton, Alta. / University of Alberta

Meg Casault / Edmonton Alta. / University of Alberta

Danielle Brisebois / Caledon, Ont. / University of British Columbia

Alissa Coulter / Calgary, Alta. / University of British Columbia

Nikki Cornwall / Coquitlam, B.C. / Trinity Western University

Aidan Lea / Kelowna, B.C. / University of British Columbia Okanagan


Laurie Eisler / team leader / University of Alberta

Daniel Huzar / head coach / University of British Columbia