Canada West Athletes of the Year

Canada West has a rich history of outstanding student-athlete success. The conference Athletes of the Year move on annually as the Canada West nominees for the Lieutenant Governor Athletic Awards (formerly the Howard Mackie Awards and Borden Ladner Gervais (BLG) Awards), which are awarded annually to the top male and female athlete in U SPORTS.

The female winner receives the Jim Thompson Trophy, while the male winner receives the Doug Mitchell Trophy.

Each of the 56 U SPORTS universities select a male and female athlete as a nominee. Each conference - Atlantic Canada, Canada West, Ontario and Québec - then select both a female, and male conference nominee. These eight nominees are then considered for the BLG Awards based on their athletic accomplishment, outstanding sportsmanship and demonstrated leadership. The Canadian Athletic Foundation – a non-profit board established to administer the Awards – serves to protect the integrity of the selection process, and select winners.

Selection Criteria

The eight nominees are selected based on the following criteria:

  • Must have participated in a U SPORTS sport for two years (including the current year of nomination)
  • Must be in a course of study leading to their first undergraduate degree or graduate program (minimum second year);
  • Must be the university's Athlete of the Year or runner-up; and
  • Cannot be a previous BLG Award winner

All-Time Canada West Athletes of the Year / Lt. Gov. Award Nominees


2023Tatum AmyMRUHockey
2022Montana LeonardCGYSoccer
2019Kiera Van RykUBCVolleyball
2018Temi OgunjimiCGYRugby
2017Danielle BriseboisUBCVolleyball
2016Iuliia PakhomenkoTRUVolleyball
2015Jessica KingTWUSoccer
2014Lisa BarclayUBCVolleyball
2013Shanice MarcelleUBCVolleyball
2012Robyn PendletonUBCField Hockey
2011Shanice MarcelleUBCVolleyball
2010Liz CordonierUBCVolleyball
2009Annamay PierseUBCSwimming
2008Lani GibbonsSFUBasketball
2007Jessica ZelinkaCGYTrack & Field
2006Sarah CrooksSSKBasketball
2005Kelsie HendrySSKTrack & Field
2004Joanna NiemczewskaCGYVolleyball
2003Jessica KaczowskaSFUBasketball
2002Teresa KleindienstSFUBasketball
2001Leighann DoanCGYBasketball
2000Jenny CartmellALBVolleyball
1999Stephanie O'NeillCGYSoccer
1998Sarah EvanetzUBCSwimming
1997Terri-Lee JohannessonMANBasketball
1997Carla SomervilleALBField Hockey
1996Meagan KochCGYBasketball
1995Stacy KozakCGYField Hockey
1994Sandra CarrollWPGBasketball
1994Vicki-Susan (Sam) le RicheUBCField Hockey
1993Diane ScottWPGVolleyball
1993Rochelle LowVICField Hockey


  • Overall winners from GPAC, who are now CW members, in italics
  • BLG overall winners in bold
  • 2023Jordan CanhamALBVolleyball
    2022Derek EppTWUVolleyball
    2019Adam SinagraCGYFootball
    2018Ed IlnickiALBFootball
    2017Ryan SclaterTWUVolleyball
    2016Andrew BuckleyCGYFootball
    2015Andrew BuckleyCGYFootball
    2014Derek HulakSSKHockey
    2013Gagan DosanjhUBCSoccer
    2012Ben BallTWUVolleyball
    2011Graham VigrassCGYVolleyball
    2010Erik GlavicCGYFootball
    2009Joel SchmulandALBVolleyball
    2008Ben SchellenbergWPGVolleyball
    2007Josh HowatsonTWUVolleyball
    2006Chris MeehanTWUVolleyball
    2005Nicholas CundyALBVolleyball
    2004Adam EnsSSKVolleyball
    2003Pascal CardinalALBVolleyball
    2002Brian JohnsUBCSwimming
    2001Mark VersfeldUBCSwimming
    2000Russ HewsonALBHockey
    1999Warren MuzikaSSKFootball
    1998Mark NohraUBCFootball
    1997Curtis MydenCGYSwimming
    1996Don BlairCGYFootball
    1995Jamie PeggCGYHockey
    1994Todd GoodwinALBHockey
    1993Andy CameronCGYVolleyball